OPDX Special Bulletin 1315.1 May 19, 2017

The Ohio/Penn Dx PacketCluster
DX Special Bulletin No. 1315.1
BID: $OPDX.1315.1
May 19, 2017
Editor Tedd Mirgliotta, KB8NW
Provided by BARF80.ORG (Cleveland, Ohio)
Written/Sent From Strongsville, OH

Thanks to the Northern Ohio Amateur Radio Society, Northern Ohio DX Association, Ohio/Penn PacketCluster Network, AB5K & the AR TelNet Clusters Network, W2VU and CQ Communications, INC., for the following DX information.

CQ NEWS RELEASE (Announcing: 2017 Inductees, CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame)
(Xenia, Ohio - May 19, 2017) - The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame has 18 new members for 2017, CQ magazine announced today. This brings to 310 the total number of members inducted since the hall's establishment in 2001.

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, whether
licensed hams or not, who have made significant contributions to amateur
radio; and those amateurs who have made significant contributions either
to amateur radio, to their professional careers or to some other aspect
of life on our planet.

The 2017 inductees (listed alphabetically) are:

    * King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand, HS1A (SK)
    * John Brosnahan, W0UN (SK) - President of Alpha Power, NOAA physicist
      and instrumental in design and construction of the HAARP facility in
    * Garrett Brown, W3AFF - Inventor of the Steadicam, which earned him
      both Oscar and Emmy awards for filmmaking technology
    * Britton Chance, W2IBK (SK) - Pioneer in magnetic imaging; MIT
      professor, team leader in MIT Radiation Lab developing WWII radar;
      US Olympic gold medalist (sailing, 1952)
    * John Crockett, W3KH - Repeater coordination pioneer; developed
      Southeastern Repeater Assn (SERA) Universal Coordination System;
      managed SCHEART system of linked repeaters in hospitals; VP Engineer-
      ing for SC Educational TV network
    * Julius T. Freeman, KB2OFY (SK) - Tuskegee Airman and Congressional
      Gold Medal recipient; frequent speaker at schools and civic organi-
    * Limor Fried, AC2SN - Founder of Adafruit Industries, major supplier
      of open-source electronics to the Maker community; honored by
      President Obama in 2016 as a "Champion of Change" and by the Internet
      of Things Institute as one of the 25 most influential women in the
      IoT industry
    * Robin Haighton, VE3FRH (SK) - Founding member of Amateur Radio on
      the International Space Station (ARISS), former president of AMSAT-NA
    * David Honess, M6DNT - Developed AstroPi project, which sent two
      Raspberry Pi computers to the International Space Station as plat-
      forms for students on Earth to write and run their own computer
      code in space; honored for this work with the Sir Arthur Clarke
      Award, presented by the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation and the British
      Interplanetary Society
    * Pete Kemp, KZ1Z (SK) - Author and educator, directly responsible
      for licensing over 700 new hams
    * Kristen McIntyre, K6WX - Apple software engineer and inventor (her
      name is on 22 granted or pending patents), promoter of STEM (science,
      technology, engineering and math) subjects for girls through various
      talks and YouTube presentations
    * Pat McPherson, WW9E (SK) - Founder and longtime coordinator of
      SATERN (Salvation Army Team Emergency Radio Network)
    * Andy Nguyen, VK3YT - Pico-ballooner, pioneered round-the-world
      microballoon flights carrying amateur radio
    * Tim Peake, KG5BVI - UK astronaut very active in ARISS program during
      time on International Space Station; coordinated ISS end of the
      AstroPi project (see David Honess, above)
    * Mike Santana, WB6TEB (SK) - Two-way radio engineer, designed Clegg
      FM-76 220-MHz transceiver and President line of CB rigs, favorites
      for conversion to 10 meters
    * Allan Steinfeld, W2TN, ex-KL7HIR (SK) - Longtime Race Director of
      the New York City Marathon, considered one of the fathers of the
      modern running movement
    * Gerald Youngblood, K5SDR - Pioneer of software defined radio (SDR)
      and founder of FlexRadio

  Two new members each are also being inducted into the CQ DX and Contest
Halls of Fame at the respective Dayton DX and Contest dinners. Their names
will be announced separately.

TO BE ADDED TO THE OPDX MAILING LIST -- Click or send requests to:
Help: opdx-request@barf80.org?subject=help
Subscribe: opdx-request@barf80.org?subject=subscribe
Unsubscribe: opdx-request@barf80.org?subject=unsubscribe





Excerpts and distribution of The OPDX Bulletin are granted as long as KB8NW/OPDX/BARF80 receive credit.
To contribute DX info, please send via InterNet Mail to:
- OR -
- OR -

Information can now be faxed to the following phone line at:
1-419-828-7791 (F A X only!)

Back to the OPDX Index
Back to the NODXA
Back to the EIDX Network